Written by Amaranath Siddaraddi|Updated: August 30, 2020 09:38:02 am

Rafale, a French origin twin-engine Omni-role fighter jet which is based on delta wing design configuration. The Jet is considered as the 4.5+ Generation Fighter Aircraft. The Indian Air Force Signed the deal to buy 36 Rafale jets which five of them have already arrived in the Ambala Airbase.

Rafale deal

In August 2007, the Indian Government accepted the proposal to buy 126 MMRCA (Medium Multi-Role Combat Aircraft) fighter jets. The two fighter jets were shortlisted for this deal. One was the Eurofighter Typhoon and the other was Dassault Rafale. The table talks started with the French government and the Dassault Aviation about the fighter jets.

In September 2016, the deal was signed with the French Government and Dassault Aviation to buy 36 Jets in Fly away conditions keeping MMRCA differently.

After the deal

The Indian Air force suggested suitable changes in the aircraft according to the Indian Terrain Conditions. The Dassault Aviation started to manufacture and assemble the Indian Jets at their Bordeaux-Merignac Facility in France. The first Rafale RB008 made its maiden flight at Bordeaux -Merignac Facility in 2018 followed by RB001 in 2019.

The tail number RB means the name of present Indian Air Force chief Air chief marshal RKS Bhaudria who played a major role in signing this deal. The twin-seater versions of the Jet will have tail number RB and single-seaters will be having tail number BS meaning the name of former IAF Chief BS Dhanoa. The first batch of Indian Airforce pilots was trained in France and seven pilots have flown the Jets to India under the Commanding officer, Group Captain Harkirat Singh.


  • Type: Omni role Aircraft
  • Engine type: Twin Engine
  • Engine: Snecma M88 Engines
  • Top speed: 1300+ km/h
  • Range: 3700 Km
  • Hardpoints: 14 ( 13 in Rafale M version)


  1. ‌30 mm GIAT revolver cannon
  2. ‌MICA and meteor Missiles
  3. ‌SCALP cruise missiles
  4. ‌Hammer air to surface missiles

Rafale in the Indian Airforce

Rafale is a combat-proven fighter jet. It has proved its mettle in the Libyan war. The Jets will be stationed at Ambala Airbase as a part of 17 squadrons (Golden Arrows) and the second squadron will be in West Bengal’s Hasimara Air Force Station as part of 101 squadrons. The Rafale gives cutting edge advantage against your enemies. As the ongoing aggression with China and Pakistan, the deadly combination of Sukhoi 30 MKI and Dassault Rafale will give the better Air superiority to the Indian Air Force.

Already the five out of 36 have landed in Ambala and are waiting for their formal induction on 10th September 2020.

Salute to Indian Air Force.

Also read, First Batch of 5 Rafale Fighter Jets: “Touch the sky with glory”


  1. Have disseminated ample knowledge. Good to see that there is no involvement of political agendas.

Write A Comment