London(UK): A 14-member One-Day International (ODI) squad for England for the next series against Ireland has been announced. Eoin Morgan named as skipper and Moeen Ali as his deputy.

The two sides are slated to play a three-game Royal London series, starting July 30 at the Rose Bowl Cricket Ground in Southampton behind closed doors in a bio-secure environment.

Wicketkeeper hitter Tom Banton, who made his debut for England in the 50-plus-year format during a clash against South Africa in February 2020, has also been named to the series in Ireland.

morgan morgan england tom banton eng vs ire

While Kent hitter Joe Denly has been removed from the ODI team after being eliminated for the second and third tests against the West Indies, Test captain Joe Root, ATV Ben Stokes, and batsman Jos Buttler have been removed.

Seamer Saqib Mahmood, who played just one ODI for his national team against South Africa, also received a go-ahead on the national team for upcoming ODIs.

Reflecting on the team, Coach James Taylor said the upcoming ODI against Ireland will provide a great opportunity to continue the exciting evolution of the ODI side with the T20 2021 World Cup also in mind.

“We are developing excellent depth resistance in white-ball cricket. Despite the fact that several test players are not available, there is a great competition for places, as we have seen during the matches within the team and the preparation game of the Lions of England, “said Taylor, according to the Cricket Board of England and Wales (ECB).

morgan england tom banton eng vs ire

“There are a number of players who will feel unfortunate not to have made it to the final team and that says a lot about how many players we currently have pushing hard for the national team at the highest level,” I added.

Meanwhile, Richard Gleeson, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone has been named as their three reserves for the ODI series against Ireland.

The ODI series between England and Ireland will also usher in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, which will determine qualification for the 2023 World Cup with the top seven teams automatically booking their places for the main event in India.


morgan england tom banton eng vs ire

Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jason Roy, James Vince, Tom Banton, Tom Curran, Liam Dawson, Joe Denly, Sam Billings, Jonny Bairstow, Saqib Mahmood, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley, David Willey.

Also check out Air Jordan 4: All you need to know

Write A Comment