The next ODI series between England and Ireland, which will begin on July 30, will officially launch the Cricket World Cup Super League, the International Cricket Council confirmed on Monday, July 27.

The World Cup Super League

The World Cup Super League, first announced in June 2018, was presented in conjunction with the Test Championship to provide context for ODI cricket by acting as a qualifying avenue to determine the participants for the 2023 Men’s World Cup in India.

Thirteen teams, including the Netherlands that won the ICC World Cricket League 2015-17, will participate in the Super League with the top seven teams, in addition to the hosts from India, ensuring direct qualification for the 2023 World Cup.

Over the course of the league, each team will play four series at home and four away, with teams scoring 10 points for a win and 5 for no result or draw. Each series must only be a three-match series, although teams can play additional matches, the results of those will not be considered for league points.

The bottom five sides of the league will battle for the bottom two places of the 10-team event at the ICC Cricket World Cup Qualifier, where the partner countries that have also progressed since League 2 of the Cricket World Cup will join. like the two leagues of the Cricket World Cup Challenge through the Qualifier Playoff.

The World Cup Super League was originally scheduled to start in May 2020 and will continue until March 2022 before the Coronavirus pandemic delays the start date until July 30.

The Cricket World Cup League 2 series, to be held in Namibia in September and which also involves Papua New Guinea and the United States, has been postponed and will be rescheduled.

How does it work?

Each Super League team plays three ODIs against eight other teams. Four of them are home series and four are away series. This means that each team plays a total of 24 ODIs that will award them points in # RoadTo2023.

An added benefit is that teams that are outside the top 10 in the current ranking have more opportunities to play more ODI against the best teams, and also help them improve their levels.

But doesn’t everyone play everyone?

So is. The Super League operates within the parameters of the Future Tours (FTP) Program existing among the Members. In this sense, this league is also like the World Test Championship.

How does the point system work?

Each team scores 10 points for a win, five for a draw / no result / game abandoned, and zero for a loss.

What about teams that end at the bottom?

The bottom five teams will still have a chance to qualify for the 2023 World Cup. The traditional ODI World Cup qualifiers will take place for them, along with partner nations, which will determine the remaining two places for the ODI 2023 World Cup.

Are there other adjustments to the playing conditions?

The ICC has announced that the third referee will summon all who are not front balls. Teams will also have points deducted for slow overshoots.

Do all ODIs now enter the Super League?

No. The teams will also play bilateral ODI with each other outside of the Super League. In some cases, they can play, for example, four or five matches in a series, but only three predetermined matches will count towards Super League points.

And all ODI will continue to count towards the ODI MRF Tires ICC team classification.

Anything else you should know?

The Super League was scheduled to start on May 1, 2020, and end on March 31, 2022. However, some series to be postponed due to the global pandemic, including the Netherlands v Pakistan matches in July. Some accessories are under discussion.

Also read, Stuart Broad’s legacy of 500 wickets:The elite 500 club

Write A Comment